MS Children's Museum

Magnolia Book Awards

A children’s choice award for the state of Mississippi

The Magnolia Book Awards are given annually to the book voted by the children and teens of Mississippi as their favorite in four age categories. The purpose of the Magnolia Book Awards is to introduce Mississippi children and teens to current literature and to instill a love of reading.

Children in grades K-12 who are students in Mississippi are eligible to participate in the voting and nominating. Voting is held annually in February, with winners announced at the Fay B. Kaigler Children’s Book Festival each April.

Voting is done by a designated individual (teacher, librarian, bookstore manager, etc.) at each location in the state of Mississippi.

Download the 2016 Nominee & Fact Sheet to vote next February! 

Congratulations to the 2015 winners for each category! 

  • K-2: The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt
  • 3-5: Tales from a Not-so-happy Heartbreaker by Rachel Renee Russell
  • 6-8: Bad Girls: Sirens, Jezebels, Murderesses, Thieves, & Other Female Villains by Jane Yolen & Heidi Stemple
  • 9-12: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Classroom and Library Resources:

The Magnolia Book Awards is a partnership of:

The Mississippi Children’s Museum, the Mississippi Department of Education, the Mississippi Library Association, the Mississippi Library Commission and the following divisions of the University of Southern Mississippi:

The School of Library and Information Science; Fay B. Kaigler Children’s Book Festival
; The School Of Curriculum, Instruction and Special Education
; and The deGrummond Children’s Literature Collection

  • Sign Up for our E-Newsletter

    Sign Up for our E-Newsletter
      * = Required Field
    • Attractions Passport
    • Blue Star Museums
    • Let's Move